Amblyopia

Although the images I chose for the ‘visual aid’ whilst studying the Amblyopia sight deficiency are aesthetically pleasing, I didn’t feel the idea was a strong representation of the alliance of the eyes and the brain as the deficiency itself is not represented. I also felt that although the use of a ‘scientific’ visual aid was a creative adaptation of visual aids aimed to help children’s learning, I didn’t feel the text and image worked in cohesion unlike the Duane Michals images. This could be because the genre of the image is entirely different to that of Michals – his images look as though they could be a diary entry and are acutely personal (especially the handwritten accompanying text), whereas the subject of my images is more of a focus upon a scientific genre.

For these reasons I feel my work would be stronger if I focused upon the inability to read text clearly when suffering the deficiency, based upon the image below which I sourced on a website dedicated to those suffering with sight deficiencies such as Amblyopia. (http://www.clarkeyecare.com/)

I feel this image is far more visually interesting, as well as a stronger link to Amblyopia and has given me some ideas as to how to visually represent the alliance of the eyes and the brain through photography and film. This image was most likely created by manually moving the lens in and out of focus on a long shutter speed.

As the image is an accurate representation, I would like to explore representing Amblyopia using more abstract techniques, especially through film, as through some research I found that suffers of Amblyopia often find that the text ‘moves’ on the page whilst they are trying to read, often completely out of focus and causing a strain. Based on this research, I plan to create a video comprised of short clips of text that we encounter in everyday life, lasting approximately 7 seconds (the general duration of sight before a blink) and broken up by transitions of  about 0.5 seconds to represent the blinking of the eye. I hope that this will create not only  an accurate representation of the sight that Amblyopia suffers may experience (which in itself could be of interest to those viewers who do not have the deficiency (or maybe even that the text may be clear to those who do have it – adding another dimension to the video)) but will also be visually stimulating in a photographic sense.

Leave a Reply

