Development…

The above videography is the result of the combination of the two artists I researched, represented in my own style. To develop from my earlier video and photographic work, I experimented using colour as opposed to solid black and white, inspired by the tonal ranges I picked from Phillip Bell’s ‘kaleidoscope’ work and incorporated the strong areas of contrast, unusual viewpoints, layering, shadow and overexposure and out of focus elements within some of Duane Michals work. Contextually, I tried to evoke ideas of identity (found within both Michals and Bell’s art) and my own interest in memories within the video. I feel as though the ‘Memories’ video is stronger in portraying the contextual ideas, but the technical ability within this video is stronger.

Leave a Reply

